Posted by: janetleigh | August 12, 2007

Life Just Is

Life Just Is


Life
is what you make of it,
forget the propaganda
………..and get on with it –
only thing about life don’t change
………..is change,
as sure as the rain falls
we all can catch a wave

Life
it being a force,
a sea of arms, legs, jacking jaws
all moving to the same beat
………….as breathing,
each its own snowflake
here, by the grace of God
we go

Life
as cruel, walking in mocs
…………one size too small,
yet expected to grow zen minds,
and walk
…………in other men’s shoes

cool, to contemplate all isms
…………sidestep useless osophies,
fool, to mess with all things pithy
……………………….poetry to piety
lest life’s foes convict you phobe –
………….albeit homo peda theo

Life
too – taken by the horns! or b-a-b-i-e-d
………..is at peace
……………………..with love, strawberry
shortcake, long naps and choices,
…………determine its course, baby –
have it all!
suck the essence out!
……………………………catch that wave,
………………………………………………….ride it up!

come down
……………..to life
…………………….on water
………………………………..falls..

Responses

  1. Life is like the rapids here, whew, what a rush, Janet!

  2. Hi again, tomachfive. It always makes me happy when a reader can feel the energy and love of life in my pieces. If it invigorates you, then the piece works. I appreciate your telling me you felt it, thanks so much.

  3. I really liked this poem. My favorite part was the third stanza and, also, how you arranged the words at the end of the piece.

  4. lovely play on words. great work on the word acrobatics! :)

  5. Sara, thank you for stopping by and for your kind compliment. I’m always thrilled when someone resonates with something I’ve written. I had a lot of fun writing this one.

  6. Thank you for your kind comment, guerdon. I like to call it “exercises in mental aerobics”, actually :D but I like “word acrobatics”, too! If you’re reading this, please leave your blogsite URL so I can come visit you, too. :)

  7. have it all!
    suck the essence out!
    catch that wave,
    ride it up!

    I love the passion in that! The exuberant joy of living fully! And how the waves in your poem mirror those in life.

    Steve

  8. Steve, how nice of you to come by and read the whole piece. The fact is, I’m *really* in love with life and all its possibilities. I hope my readers will see your name in my blogroll and visit your site for some of the best quotes and poems around. I’m glad I found your great site!


Leave a Reply

Categories