Posted by: janetleigh | August 12, 2007

Remembrance

Remembrance

I think I’ll always remember you
in the early morning hours
just before dawn, when sky
is but a velvet drape, melting
colors soft as raindrops;
a time when everything is
lazy clouds, majestic mountains
splashed across the sky in purple
palette, trees cloaked in sensuous
beauty swaying against indigo skies,
stars like diamonds falling at their feet,
thinking, I’ll always remember you
in the early morning hours, when
all I feel is the gentleness
of morning about to awaken,
when all I hear is occasional bird in song,
when all I know is peace within my heart, knowing.

Responses

  1. Janet, I really love this one. It’s in the morning when I also remember the most loving feelings in my own heart as I awake.
    Your word selection is excellent:

    I think I’ll always remember you
    in the early morning hours
    just before dawn, when sky
    is but a velvet drape, melting
    colors soft as raindrops;

    And then this is really what I’m talking about what I feel:

    thinking, I’ll always remember you
    in the early morning hours, when
    all I feel is the gentleness
    of morning about to awaken,

    Stay inspired!

  2. I’m so glad you like it. Now I know more about you, too, Amanda. Thank you for being so generous in your comments. I feel like I’ve found a friend in you. A like-minded spirit.

  3. Completely beautiful. I love the sweetness to it and how you use nature to soften the longing.

    Coming from one who has a powerful connection to other-worldliness and passion drawn from a very deep well of emotions – I’m glad this one resonates with you and thank you, Sara, for your generous comments on my work..:)

  4. Very beautiful poem and very ‘picturesque’ ..

    Thank you, and welcome to Poetmeister, Ronak! As soon as the dust settles around here, I shall come visit you..:) Thanks so much for stopping in, hope you’ll return to stay awhile. Tea is served fireside at four..

  5. this is a piece of real beauty.

    Thank you for such a nice comment, Trisha (my sister’s name, too). Welcome to Poetmeister – I hope you come back..:)


Leave a Reply

Categories