Posted by: janetleigh | August 20, 2007

Death as Life’s Lover

It’s hard to live
between life
…………………and death:
We
exercise the body,
exercise the mind,..
exercise your right
to smoke pink lungs to black..
or
smack my daughter up side the head
with your new! shiny! frickin’ red car!
while she sleeps, hammocked
between front yard magnolias,
YOU BASTARDLY! FRICKIN’ DASTERDLY DRUNK!
……………………………..(ok, write him up)
……………………………..(verdict Friday)
……………………………..(sentence pending)

Mainline your soul to its knees
you bastard!
pant chant-like
after me,
I want to..…….. LIVE!
(if you want to live)

I wanna live!
I wanna live!
I wanna see the Light!
I wanna see beyond
………………….steel bars
………………….cotton mats
………………….cell jars!
Hear me! …..I’da be a free MAN!
………………….father
………………….mother
………………….trucker
………………….uncle
………………….sis
born of
………………….junkies
………………….hippies
………………….bankers
………………….jesus freaks
who go to church
…………………and work
…………………and grumble
…………………and do battle
unarmed genetically;
…………………too weak
…………………too worn
…………………too torn
was this free man,
…………………who pleads
…………………who labors
…………………who cries
………………………………for change,
……………………………………………..for change,
…………………………………………………………… for change!
Mantra me
…………………with panaceas,
………………………………………newage gurus
…………………………………………………………..spirit guides,
……………………………………………………………………………..and quartz crystals.
Madame Oracle me
………………………………..palm me,
…………………………………………………tarot me,
…………………………………………………………………..and tea me

into richer times and grander schemes...

SEE. ME.

I be a dead man.
I want to live.
I want to LIVE!

Mantra me, my man, mantra me.
Pass the panacea,
and table the God talk, wouldja?

As my steel gray matter clank closed.

Responses

  1. Lusciously purr-verse! Just love your last line (I love all of ’em.).

    But I’m sorry if the verse about your daughter corresponds to an actual event. I was a little shocked about that one. I hope all’s fine.

    Just keep hitting them with your baseball bat, Janet!

  2. Hi, tomachfive! I’m so sorry for not seeing your comment until now..:( My bad! *smack* *smack*
    I have to remember to check my ‘comment page’ more often so I don’t leave ‘net poetry friends like you thinking I’m an insensitive clod. Forgive me?

    To answer your question, no the verse is not about my daughter, God forbid! It just spilled out on the paper and I left it in. Sometimes I create pieces from a one-liner that pops in my head. I can weave a poem out of a word or title. As a matter of fact, I wrote a piece called “ode to maggie” about a young lady that has changed her life for the better. I wrote her a poem she could “grow into” if you know what I mean. My first impression of her when I first met her was “she rode in on rare castle rock air”. It took me 2 years to write it. I just finished it. I’ll put it up for you to read. I hope you enjoy it, tom!

    O, and I love your last line to me “just keep hitting them with your baseball bat” because it said something about my poem I hadn’t realized before. That is, you’re implying it’s a pretty violent poem or you think I bludgeoned the idea to a pulp. heh heh I decided to take it as a compliment, tho :)


Leave a Reply

Categories