Posted by: janetleigh | September 25, 2007

Many Miles

Many Miles

We’ve walked together many miles
Upon this road – called Life –
And by-the-by I’ve learned some things
Some good – some not so nice.

Life offers us both Likes and Loves
They’re out there – everywhere –
So hush – and look and listen – please
Be still – and step with care.

For God has given everything
From Eyes – to Grand Design –
And puts us on a different Path
With different Peaks to climb.

Together – Rivers wide we crossed
Together – Roads we walked
With every mile – we sang and laughed
And cried – then barely talked.

Rivers – mountains – crossed them all
Now hushed – I step with care
I drank too deeply – then I cried
To learn of life’s Despair.

I reawoke – one gracious morn
To see the Dawn – out there –
In subtle Hues – the Darkness left
And – Light – now Everywhere.

Copyright © Janet Leigh Dowd

Responses

  1. a familiar voice here. almost as a mother to daughter . quite heroes.

  2. A loving piece indeed.

  3. It’s nice of you to stop in and leave such a nice comment about Many Miles, jak. I like your take on it. :)

  4. I’m glad you like it, too, Amanda. I also appreciate you as a regular visit to Poetmeister. :)

  5. eh, eh, that should read, ” I also appreciate you as a regular *visitor*..”, Amanda. Sorry.

  6. Janet! This is great! Where have you been hiding this??

    Anna! Your enthusiasm is great! It feeds my soul! And how could I be hiding this if you’re commenting on it?? heh heh


Leave a Reply

Categories