Posted by: janetleigh | October 1, 2007

Fantasy on the Half Shell

half_shells320x240.jpg

………………..Fantasy on the Half Shell

………………..Yield,

………………………………..to shifting

……………………………………………………….settling

……………………………………………………………………silent

………………………………………………………….and

………………………………………….still

………………………..sands,

………………………………….smooth

………………………………………………….dimpled

…………………………………………………………….blue-colored

………………………………………………………………………………………..stones,

…………………………………………………………………………open

………………………………………………………wet –

……………………………………..kissed

…………………………….shells,

………………………………………………I hear..

……………………………………………………………..Pachelbel.

 

Copyright © Janet Leigh Dowd

Responses

  1. lovely, reminiscent of cummings, but it holds ts own.

    I’m trying something new here as far as leaving replies to comments. I’m going to put my response right under the comment left by my reader. Jak, I’m using you for my experiment tonight. I hope this reply shows up like Tom’s over on Philnensia. Here goes tell me what you think of this idea, okay?

    Thank you for stopping by again to read my blog, Jak, and for your lovely comment. I don’t know much about e.e. cummings but now I must go see why you think this piece is reminiscent of his poetry. I can assure you it’s not intentional. I deliberately don’t read much of the great works in poetry because I don’t want to be influenced by anyone’s work. It’s not that I don’t have the works of Dickinson, Wordsworth, Tenneyson, Donne, Blake, Rimbaud, Tagore, Gibran, Dylan, Khayyam, Yeats, Parker, Morrison (as in Van ;) and the like, but I plan on reading them when I’m an old raisin wearing purple caftans and flip-flops out under the ol’ willer tree. heh heh

  2. Intersting way of setting up the words. Soothing…

    Thank you for stopping in, Amanda. I’m glad you find this piece soothing. It’s a nice description for this piece, actually. :) Well, the pattern didn’t turn out as well as the original, but the idea was to imply these shells and stones were in the sand; nestled in the little mini-dunes created by footsteps in the sand. But it looks like it didn’t work too well here. Ack.

  3. Yes. I hear it, too.
    and now a taste of sparkling wine
    evening fades
    Handel plays next

    I do believe sparkling wine will go well with Pachelbel, Hermit, and Handel, too. I’m glad you can hear Pachelbel and made time to tell me so; I love classical and choral music and now you’ve made me think about evenings walking on the beach with an ear towards the siren’s song coming in with the mist. Thank you for stopping by and leaving your lovely comment. :)

  4. i like the way this moves, visually and aurally.
    It’s very pretty.

    Thank you for taking the time to tell me you like this piece and the way it moves… I appreciate any feedback I get from my readers. :)

  5. This is to All,

    I see that my idea to write my replies in your comments doesn’t work very well, so I’m reverting back to the old way of replying to posts.

    I’m sorry if it was confusing to you. :( My bad! *spank, spank*

  6. Jak, Thank you for stopping by again to read my blog, Jak, and for your lovely comment. I don’t know much about e.e. cummings but now I must go see why you think this piece is reminiscent of his poetry. I can assure you it’s not intentional. I deliberately don’t read much of the great works in poetry because I don’t want to be influenced by anyone’s work. It’s not that I don’t have the works of Dickinson, Wordsworth, Tenneyson, Donne, Blake, Rimbaud, Tagore, Gibran, Dylan, Khayyam, Yeats, Parker, Morrison (as in Van ;) and the like, but I plan on reading them when I’m an old raisin wearing purple caftans and flip-flops out under the ol’ willer tree. heh heh

  7. Amanda: Thank you for stopping in, Amanda. I’m glad you find this piece soothing. It’s a nice description for this piece, actually. :) Well, the pattern didn’t turn out as well as the original, but the idea was to imply these shells and stones were in the sand; nestled in the little mini-dunes created by footsteps in the sand. But it looks like it didn’t work too well here. Ack.

  8. Hermit: I do believe sparkling wine will go well with Pachelbel, Hermit, and Handel, too. I’m glad you can hear Pachelbel and made time to tell me so; I love classical and choral music and now you’ve made me think about evenings walking on the beach with an ear towards the siren’s song coming in with the mist. Thank you for stopping by and leaving your lovely comment. :)

  9. chughes: Thank you for taking the time to tell me you like this piece and the way it moves… I appreciate any feedback I get from my readers. :)

  10. This one is very lyrical. I love the way you set it up. To me the words seem to flow like a wave- really lovely.

  11. Thank you, Sara, for your kind feedback on this piece – you experienced what I intended for FotHS. And, I really do appreciate your taking the time to stop in again. :)


Leave a Reply

Categories