Posted by: janetleigh | October 18, 2007

No more ruffled feathers

dancing3babies1.gif

No more ruffled feathers

Being a parent is the hardest job
this planet offers –
it’s so hard to let go
when it’s their time to fly
and soar –
with wonderment
……………or turbulence.

Have faith then –
the same Everlasting Father
who protects you
from loving them too much
would not give you more loneliness
than you can bear –
so relax now
in the comfort of His faithful love –

and believe,
He’s sent another one of His to you
to say:
I, too, have one who’s flown away –
he’s my heart
I think about him every day

and I think of God now in a different way –
today I’ll talk to Him in prayer
and I’ll ask Him – as I always do –
to send me gifts of flowers and friends
to soothe me
when I’m feeling low and oh so blue,
without the presence of My Heart – my son
and pray He does the same for you –

sometimes I wonder –
does God get lonely, too?

Copyright © Janet Leigh Dowd

Responses

  1. i can appreciate this, being a mother of two girls, the oldest 13, and not wanting them to ever leave. Not because i want to stop them from their lives, but because i don’t want anyone or anything to harm them, damage their super-bright spirits.

    Of course they’re going to go, but i can wish, can’t i? :)

    i am also a child who left, moving all the way to another state. My mother was happy for me but also sad for herself because i was going so far away. (Sorry, Mama. :( )

    i read a poem recently that called God “the onliest, loneliest one…” i think it may be fitting since none are like him and that’s why he desires our love and friendship so.

    This is good work- emotive and universal. It’s hard to let go, but awesome to see the joy that can come from witnessing lovies spread their wings and soar.

  2. Janet, this was a nice way to wake up this morning. I stumbled over here from Tom’s site and I’m so glad I did. This piece was breathtaking, honest, and beautiful.
    Kim

  3. This will one day be me in the future.. I hope I can remember what Gibran said about Children and let them fly. To hold without holding is a very tough job. (hugs) and (cyber flowers) . Take care of yourself, for you need to be there when your son returns :).

  4. Hi there, chughes. :) Oh, yes, I know how you feel about your daughters eventual departure from the family nest. It’s really so hard when they leave – as much as we want everything to be the *same* – it rarely ever is. So, it’s prudent that we love, love, love them while they’re at home when we have them as a captive audience, so to speak. :) We only have them for a little while. We’ve done a good job if they grow to be independent, self-sufficient and eager to start their own lives independent of family. But it doesn’t make it any easier to see them go. And, I never heard the description of God being “the onliest, loneliest one” but it sure is befitting, isn’t it? I also left my home to move several states away and my own mother wasn’t too happy about it. I had to leave in order to preserve my sanity; I come from an emotionally labile family. Thank you for coming by and leaving your thoughts with me, chughes. It’s always a pleasure! :)

    krkbaker, how nice of you to stop in to tell me you like this piece – first thing in the morning even! Thank you for your nice thoughts, they’re so appreciated. I hope you stop in again. :)

    mysoul – it’s so nice to read your thoughts here, too, especially your comment about Gibran. He’s one of my favorite poets and his chapter on Children is a masterpiece in my opinion. I’m happy to know you’re acquainted with Gibran’s work. The Prophet has had a profound effect on me since my late teens. I wrote “Remembrance” shortly after reading the Prophet. I think one of the reasons I feel so strongly about his work is because it reminds me of the Bible, my favorite book. Very astute of you to write, “..to hold without holding..” as that is the essence of raising children and Gibran’s message. I feel you are a kindred spirit, mysoul. :) Thank you for coming by and telling me your thoughts, the hugs and the cyber flowers. Likewise, two-fold, re hugs & flowers. You’re a sweet soul. :)

  5. I am sure God does get lonely…yes indeed he does.

  6. Welcome, to Poetmeister, S. Thomas Summers and thank you for your thoughts on this piece. I tend to agree with you. :)

  7. Glad to stup by. When you have time visit my site/my blog.

    http://www.freewebs.com/sthomassummers

    Blog is on the site. It’s titled The Lint in My Pocket.

    S. Thomas Summers (Scott)

  8. Note to Scott: Yes, I’ve been to your site, but I’m confused as to which link for poetry. I click on your blog link The Lint in My Pocket and it brings me to a page with the same interface but there’s no poetry there. I must be missing something (besides a brain, heh heh).

  9. hi janet. sometimes there is poetry on my blog. sometimes just other things that interest me. i have poetry all over my site. feel free to browse. hope all is well.

  10. I like the spirtual aspects of this poem. The last line is food for thought, for sure.

  11. with wonderment
    or turbulence.

    yeah, that’s about right.


Leave a Reply

Categories