Posted by: janetleigh | November 4, 2007

Weary on a mind quest

sm_scream_censorship.jpg

Weary on a mind quest

I hear you
cry out
in the wilderness
your need to be alone
trapped within your mind
and reeling
somersaults
no will to roam

………………………………………………you cry out
………………………………………………in your bewilderness!
………………………………………………NO! No! Not yet! I’m healing

………………………………………………enter quietly

let the pain subside inside
this mind that has no walls
to keep conflicting worlds apart,
or demons
fading art
or loss

A budding beam of precious light
cuts through my mind with speed
too bright!
and moves too swiftly
through dark Hades night
too swift to light all fears which cling
too swift to stay the hope it brings

One must tip-toe through mind’s labyrinth
until a power on feet with wings
ignites my soul and builds in strength
to slash-and-burn this hidden hell!
’til then

I walk in mental chains

……………..and dodge mind shadows

………………………………………………I hear you
………………………………………………bewilderness embraced!
………………………………………………You need to be alone
………………………………………………to rest soul’s endless quest for calm
………………………………………………to search your mind and put to test

Is not a dream
this dreadful thing?
Is not a dream
that’s left me reeling?
Has God left me so
to ponder long
His sacred Scriptures or Psalm’s song?

Will He awaken me once more again
to live in His power
put soul to wing?
Put to sleep this sleepless hour?
Bring both Life and Soul that sing?

………………………………………………..I hear you cry out
………………………………………………..I swear

………………………………………………..He hears!

Photo by Tapio Hurme

Responses

  1. a swallowing saga…

  2. Eek! Jak, I’m not sure I understand what you mean. Good or bad? Hard to believe (swallow)? heh heh

  3. I feel a personal struggle within and a search for the answers that unbind and mend. This poem was very strong. I think you are searching the deeper meaning of your spirit in this poem and Ode to Soul. I hope you find what you are searching for. Forgive me if I am wrong on this.

    Have a nice day.
    Michelle

  4. Accompanied by a compelling visual, yes, yes, yes. This only too true for the rest of us. Nice going (:

  5. You have done an excellent job here. The images, the tone, the word selection it all works. Stay inspired my friend.

  6. What a great site! And what a weird way to find it.

    You left a message at my blog where in a post I wrote Janet Dowd at NYT instead of Maureen Dowd at NYT.

    I used to know a Janet Dowd, who was a poet too…about 10 years back. From outside DC area in Virginia.

    Is this the same Janet Dowd? Likely not..but I’ll be pleasantly surprised and really happy if it is.

    If not, pleasure to make a new acquaintance — and a very talented one, from the little I have seen at the site so far — and hope to make a new friend. :)

  7. The cadence of this work adds beautifully to the internal struggles with doubt and fear we can experience in times of pain, loss, need.

    i love the picture and response format of the poem. It feels and reads like a conversation.

    As always, wonderful and good work.

  8. Yes, Sanjeev, one and the same, my friend! I couldn’t resist commenting because I knew you meant Maureen Dowd (distant cuz), but thought it hilarious that you used “Janet” instead. heh heh Remnants of the past die hard, eh? Glad to know I exist in your subconscious and I’m not conscious in M*r*k’s… oops, my bad *grins*

    What the hey have you been up to? Your blog Tasty Morsals of Life is a wonderful read. I tried to access it a while ago, and it’s been killed? Not on account of me, I hope..?! -oo-

    I guess the legs……|\…|\…. gave me away, they always do.

    Please, leave your contact info here if you see this response, ok? Your link is not working.

    This is great. Glad I found you, too…\o/

  9. Thank you, Christine, for telling me what you liked about this piece. I can learn so much from you (& others here) about what does and doesn’t work. I know I need more constructive criticism in order to grow and so I welcome feedback, especially from my betters..;>

  10. *God’s Bitter Angel Answers*

    You who rose from dust to life, breath of God
    in skin-prison bottled, do you question
    His supreme plan? Does your veneration
    fall so short of glory, that you would nod
    your head and pray mere words? Would He be God
    could He not answer? Yet your hymn’s less sung
    in worship than in dark desperation—
    dissonant in choral dread of the Rod.

    Is He not Love? Does Love punish only?
    Take heart, little wren, grasp faith in your heart
    and know that Love is you, that you are love—
    His breath and heartbeat are yours; these lonely
    hours are but reflection upon His Art
    as it grows within each, to bless thereof!

    David M Pitchford
    Thanks for the inspiration to write another surf-by sonnet!

  11. This is my favorite part:
    enter quietly..

    ..let the pain subside inside
    this mind that has no walls
    to keep conflicting worlds apart,

  12. I liked this stanza:

    One must tip-toe through mind’s labyrinth
    until a power on feet with wings
    ignites my soul and builds in strength,
    to slash-and-burn this hidden hell!
    ’til then..

    I walk in mental chains..

    This was real to me!

  13. […] 8 November 2007 Weary on a mind quest « Poetmeister …on the road to Parnassus Posted by bitterhermit under authors, blogs to visit, cosmic influence, explicate this, fellow travelers, friends, mind alive, myth, mythology, on the fly, on writing, poems, sonnets   Weary on a mind quest « Poetmeister …on the road to Parnassus […]

  14. Depression grips us and steals us away. Perhaps Depression is the chief Warden. One key. One Soul.

  15. I’m once again honored by the words left in your surf-by sonnet, bitterhermit, and most impressed by your quick on the up take ability. You’ve written the perfect companion poem to my rather imperfect piece. Thank you for enshrouding it in proper decencies, said grasshopper..:)

  16. Sara and Anna, thank you for telling me what moved you the most in this piece; and Polar your description is an astute observation, well put. I appreciate your stopping in to read…:)

  17. there’s no wall to veil the light.. but still, there’s darkness all around…

    so you found me eh ? yeah, u found a fren..
    thanks..

    I’m tenacious, too, heh heh.
    BTW, awsiv, if you want your name to be a live link when you comment on someone’s blog, just go into your profile page and enter your WordPress website URL on the 2nd line of your Contact Info under the space for your email addy and then click “Update Profile”. Voila! It should be live for people to link back to your blog. It’s mighty nice of you to return to read Weary on a Mind Quest, too. I’ll be returning to your blog again soon..:)

  18. ahh.. i sometimes miss some very important details see? thank you, thank you, thank you!! :)

    so i’ve come here again, i can’t leave without a compliment – i like the picture you chose for this art of your’s.. it sends chills to my brain cells..

    and do you see my link now? ;)

    cheers!!

  19. Janet: My father died recently and my mom has been so distraught since. I am not sure if she is in the frame of mind to appreciate this wonderful poem but reading it, I was moved and thought how inspiring and wonderful this poem would be to someone like her. Tenacity and pluck even in the face of bewilderness… that’s what life sometimes is all about, no?

    Wonderful poem. Am glad I saw this today.

    Sanjeev,.. Sangeev, my dear friend, I’m so sorry to learn of your father’s passing.. and your Mom’s present state of mind. It has to be so hard for her (and you, of course) after being with your father all these long years, together as one heart, now separated by a thin veil.. one that may allow their thoughts to pass over, one to the other. I hear this happens often after a loved one’s passing over. It can be both frightening and reassuring at the same time.

    I feel so honored to know that you’ve even contemplated showing your Mom this poem. But of course, only you would know if it’s appropriate for her to read now, or if at all. My own thoughts on this are that the poem might be more comforting once she’s not so distraught. Our minds can be so far away and confused/rattled after the death of a loved one that something like a poem might not even register on an emotional or intellectual level – even for her. There may come a time when she doesn’t seem so overwrought .. a time when she may be internalizing her loss.. that may be the right time to show her the poem. At a time when she needs to know that with time, pain and darkness can be overtaken by the soul searching for the comfort of light again.. a time when knowing she’ll survive her loss and she feels more in control of her life again….? But if you’re both of the same temperment, she may take the deeper meanings to heart and encourage her to continue seeking life and joy.

    I’m so glad my poem has brought you some comfort and inspiration, Sanjeev. You know that life has its peaks and valleys and death is a part of life that most people survive and we even go on to enjoy life once again. Except after a passing, we carry the loving memories around with us in our heart and mind as a way of embracing and keeping close our beloved while we make up for the physical loss. We know that the body is a vessel for our soul which never dies.. it just takes on a new location and a new mission! You haven’t said how you’re holding up, my dear Sanjeev..? This is for you {{{{{{{hug}}}}}}}. I’m here, poeticjustice@mindspring.com, if I can be of help. Love and Light to you now.


Leave a Reply

Categories