Posted by: janetleigh | December 30, 2007

Death as Life’s Lover

It’s hard to live
between life
…………………and death:
We
exercise the body,
exercise the mind,
.
exercise your right
to smoke pink lungs to black
smack my daughter up side the head
with your new! shiny! frickin! red car!
while she sleeps hammocked
between front yard magnolias
YOU BASTARD! FRICKIN’ DASTARDLY DRUNK!
……………………………..(ok, write him up)
……………………………..(verdict Friday)
……………………………..(sentence pending)
.
Mainline your soul to its knees
you bastard!
Pant chant-like
after me,
I want to…….. LIVE!
(if you want to live)
.
I wanna live.
I wanna live!
I wanna see the Light!
I wanna see beyond
………………….steel bars
………………….cotton mats
………………….cell jars
HEAR ME! I wanna be a free MAN
………………….father
………………….mother
………………….trucker
………………….uncle
………………….sis
born of
………………….junkies
………………….hippies
………………….bankers
………………….jesus freaks
who go to church
…………………and work
…………………and grumble
…………………and do battle
unarmed genetically;
…………………too weak
…………………too worn
…………………too torn
is this freed man,
…………………who pleads
…………………who labors
…………………who cries
………………………………for change,
……………………………………………..for change,
…………………………………………………………… for change!
Mantra me
…………………with panaceas,
………………………………………newage gurus,
…………………………………………………………..spirit guides,
……………………………………………………………………………..and quartz crystals.
Madame Oracle me
………………………………..palm me,
…………………………………………………tarot me,
…………………………………………………………………..and tea me
into richer times and grander schemes.

SEE. ME.
.
I be a dead man.
I want to live.
I want to LIVE!
.
Mantra me, my man, mantra me.
Pass the panacea,
and table the God talk, wouldja?
.
As my steel gray matter clank closed.
Responses

  1. thank you so much for your poetry.
    It truly is amazing.

    You have just made my day, coldfire, with your truly encouraging comment..:) Welcome to Poetmeister! Please make yourself at home; fireplace to the right, drinks on the table next to the easy chair..;>

  2. quite a powerful rant – full of might. happy new year!

    So very nice of you to stop in during the busy Holiday Season to read & comment on my “rant”, Scott. Wishing you and yours a Happy New Year full of grace and adventure!

  3. Nice design.

    How the words flow.

  4. I’m thoroughly rattled by this…

  5. brisk. biting. great passion

  6. Someone once said that God is a savvant autistic child from the seventh dimension . . . how much would that explain, Madame Oracle?
    Thanks for sharing! I’m working on catching up and getting back to it . . .
    David

  7. A niece piece. Full of emotion and power. Stay inspired!

  8. Right on the edge, powerful writing.

  9. As my steel gray matter clank closed.

    Great ending to a powerful poem which is Ginsbergian (is that a word?) in its flow, but tightly controlled too.

    But now I want to read something new by you. Please? Please?

    Hope you’re well, Janet.


Leave a Reply

Categories