Posted by: janetleigh | February 2, 2008

Many Miles

light_everywhere.jpg

We’ve walked together many miles
Upon this road – called Life –
And by-the-by I’ve learned some things
Some good – some not so nice.

Life offers us both Likes and Loves
They’re out there – everywhere –
So hush – and look and listen – please
Be still – and step with care.

For God has given everything
From Eyes – to Grand Design –
And puts us on a different Path
With different Peaks to climb.

Together – Rivers wide we crossed
Together – Roads we walked
With every mile – we sang and laughed
And cried – then barely talked.

Rivers – mountains – crossed them all
Now hushed – I step with care
I drank too deeply – then I cried
To learn of life’s Despair.

I reawoke – one gracious morn
To see the Dawn – out there –
In subtle Hues – the Darkness left
And – Light – now Everywhere.

Responses

  1. This is a great meditation on earthly struggle and faith, Janet, that even a heathen such as myself can relate to. The heavy subject is worn lightly and the rhyming is effortless (the best end-rhymes are those you don’t notice I always think, which is the case here). Plus the language stays tight and the subject focussed. Nice conclusion too.

    Have a good weekend!

  2. what a beautiful affirmation… i am guilty all to often of seeing only the black that life has to offer.. thank you for reminding me…..

  3. i know my words can be negative but oh how i love finding rays of light. And when they shine, how much more i appreciate them.

    This well made poem seems to me an outstretched hand to all people, as well as known and familiar hands already clasped together in comfort.

    A pleasure, as always. Hopeful. i like it.

  4. ever the optimistic charmer – lovely.

    scott

  5. i’m back!!!

    hope all is well.

    scott

  6. i’m back!!!

    hope all is well.

    scott

  7. Inspiring and uplifting!

  8. Is there a Dickinson reference or inspiration here?

    I read your post regarding poets. I’ve taken a course in Ms. Dickinson’s work. I think many of us could draw some general similarities to her work, but I’d hardly argue these render my work similar to her incredible talent. :-)

  9. Hi,

    http://www.why-paisley.com/justpaisley/

    Has left your I Promise Blogroll. Thanks. Hopefully there won’t be any more changes for a good long while.

    Thanks for taking part and being a vital part of PWB.

    Sara

  10. Together – Rivers wide we crossed
    Together – Roads we walked
    With every mile – we sang and laughed
    And cried – then barely talked.

    Was very good. Really well done on the rhythm in this poem, very noticeable.


Leave a Reply

Categories