Posted by: janetleigh | February 11, 2008

Poetinalia

My dear friends and readers,

As you know, I’ve been torn between my I Promise blog hopping commitments and my call to duty as a daughter whose mother was diagnosed with cancer of both lungs. Two weeks ago she had one/third of her left lower lobe removed on Tuesday and she was home Saturday. She was power-walking the day after surgery. The doctor and nurses couldn’t believe it. (Mother never learned to drive and has walked miles every day. She’s never been sick and never had an operation before this time.) She’s been doing great at home, and hasn’t had any pain despite an 8″ incision that goes from under one breastesses (remember In Living Color TV show? heh) around into her back. Ouch. The only “pain” she’d been complaining about was the gout that developed in her right knee post-op. That’s about gone now. Where she had a tube placed in her back is where she’s feeling the most discomfort. She’s had one percocet since being home. The other lung was going to be done within 2 weeks.

Now, here’s where I get down on my knees to thank all of you for your kind thoughts and many prayers said on my mother’s behalf. They must have been fervent and powerful. Mom went to the surgeon this past Thursday for a follow-up exam, pathology report results and scheduling for her next surgery. The doctor told my Mom he was bewildered but happy to tell her the 2 lumps he removed, that he was 95% sure was cancer, wasn’t! Can you believe it!? He also told her that he believes the other spot on her other lung is probably not cancer either, based on the pathology results, and she doesn’t have to have the other lung surgery. He’s going to watch it very closely, though. This is the best news my family has gotten that has us all in a daze. My one sister, Candy, and I do believe it, however; we believe in the power of prayer! We have an awesome God, and all you prayer warriors out there have proven it! We also believe prayer is the best gift you can given anyone. Thank you from the bottom of our hearts.

I hope to be back on a more normal schedule anon.

thankyou_flowers2.jpg

Responses

  1. You and your family continue to pulse in my prayers.

    Again, thank you so much, Scott, for your prayers. As you can see, they’re working! May God bless you, too!

  2. I do hope everything works out for the best.

    Hello again, blogger, and thank you so much for your kind thoughts. I appreciate them very much..:)

  3. i’m still praying, JL.
    God is an awesome God and i thank Him for hearing and answering the many prayers made by you and those who care about you!
    i am blown away- truly! Amazing!

    Hello, my dear, c. Yes, we’re still reeling from the good news. Such a blessed shock, really. This is called a modern-day miracle; God’s work. All thanks be to God, Our Father! You have been a true prayer warrior for us, c, and you have our deepest felt thanks. {{{hugs}}}

  4. You have my prayers. I believe God will make everything well for her. I will talk to Him for you and for your mother.

    Tom, thank you so much for your prayers, too. I believe prayer is the greatest gift one can give another. I feel so blessed to have friends like you. {{{hugs}}}

  5. This is really great news. So happy for you. I hope things continue like this!

    Love,

    Ario

  6. That’s wonderful! I’ll keep you and your family in my thoughts and prayers.

    Hugs.


Leave a Reply

Categories