Posted by: janetleigh | June 26, 2009

Michael Jackson Tribute by Poetmeister

mjt

Shrouded, our Great
troubled tragic Magic Man-
child enters his rest,

unexpectedly,
sudden, unbelievable.
Your demise shocks all.

Eccentric or mad
like crazy bat in belfry-
who cares?  Now, beat it!

Man-child was music
personified, a thriller
killer dance on toes.

Michael,

now hear this! Your Star,
Your Life, shines forevermore-
like a thousand suns.

Rest in peace, Michael.
I look past your dark boy flaws-
Embrace your genius.

.

Copyright © Janet Leigh, 5.25.09.  All Rights Reserved.

Responses

  1. what a wonderful tribute to a genius entertainer.. well done…

    Thank you for your thoughts on this, Paisley. I’m still a little dazed by it all. We’ve lost a musical genius; they say there’s one (sometimes several), in every century. I hope his spirit stays here long enough to see the outpouring of love for him, and the sadness we feel at his parting. Be well, my dear..:)

  2. nice tribute , he deserves it

    Hi, HTMM, and thank you for your kind feedback. I’m pleased to know that you think he deserves a tribute such as mine, and the many more brilliant ones to come, I’m sure.

  3. We feel that Michael Jackson has left us so early, with just his music and our memories. Our prayers go out to his family. I love you so much, and never got the chance to go to a concert. I honestly think you

  4. Well said Janet. I have not really addressed this death yet, mostly because I have a hard time with the dark boy flaws from the past – I shall look passed them now and see the genius still there.

    I appreciate your kind words about this haiku-set, Janet. I struggled with this one. How does one encapsulate a life such as Jackson’s in one piece of work? Especially while wrestling with his apparent demons? Do I highlight these or merely mention it? I chose to deal with it at the end of this piece, just as it played out in his life. He started out fairly normal but as Trisha-Ann below so eloquently put it, Michael never had a normal life, let alone a normal childhood. His father was rather unkind to the little Michael and a real taskmaster who meted out punishment and ridicule like it was confetti thrown in the air. (One reason Michael and Liz Taylor were life-long friends was because they both had horrible childhoods.) Michael’s father made fun of Michael’s nose from the get-go so I’m sure there’s some connection psychologically between his father’s cruel teasing etc., and his nose “fixation”.

    But besides all that, do we, as in we the outsiders, really know what Michael’s life was like other than the fact we know it was quite different from our own? I’ve always been troubled by the stories of him molesting those boys; I don’t quite believe it. It’s more like Michael suffered from arrested development and truly felt more comfortable around children, since it could be argued that he was, as an adult, living a “childhood” of his own making. Is there such a thing as a Peter Pan syndrome? If so, he must be their poster child.

    I’ve also wondered if Michael was set up by those who felt threatened by his popularity around the world. I remember the charity work he bestowed on children of other countries and how he became a pop idol. He was using his fame and money to help others. Some people don’t like that kind of thing. Not everyone is for peace in the world. War is more profitable. lol. Wow. I can’t believe I’ve gotten into such a long, drawn out blah blah blah mode here. Sorry, Janet. I tend to analyze things and look under the surface. Like scratching around for clues and motives for having John Lennon neutralized at a time when he had much influence over young adults. Or even Princess Diane, for that matter. Oh, well, I’ll leave it here as fodder for future analysts

    And I thank you muchly for stopping in and leaving your kind remarks, Janet! :)

  5. How is one to live as an adult when no childhood was every experienced as one. Your words are very poignant for a man that was never afforded the luxuries of a normal life. May he now enjoy those experiences of freedom, joy, unconditional love and peace with Our Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ.

    You nailed it so eloquently, Trisha-Ann! His life was so unlike our own and it’s hard to fathom living in the circumstances in which he did. The rehearsals and performances took up so much of his time, and his life was regimented to the nth degree by everyone around him. It’s so sad when one knows what a productive person he was before the scandals started. All his goodwill travels around the world, his generosity, charity and gift-giving. I’m sure there will be expose books and articles on the horizon, but for now I shall hold a good thought about our recently departed Michael.

    So good to see you here, Trish. I hope your recent treatment has you feeling better quickly! {{{hugs}}}

  6. My heart goes out to the family of Michael Jackson especially his children. I am still in shock about his death. I believe that Michael Jackson contributed alot when it comes to the music business. He had a remarkable talent. He was the inspiration for a lot of other musicians. Michael has definitely left his mark and his music will continue to live on. I remember as a child growing up listening to his music. One of my favorite songs when he was a child was Ben. Michael has inspired millions of people through his music.

    I didn’t know him personally but I do believe that when people hit stardom things can spiral out of control. No matter what Michael stood up for what he believed in. In some of his songs he expressed so many clues it’s not funny at all. What happened to him was tragic and totally unexpected. It could have happened to anyone. It amazes me how when you are in public scrutiny there are some who seem to have no compassion. No matter what he was a person with a gift and talent that cannot be matched. Michael also did his own thing to change the music business and the crossed the boundaries which did in some sense bring about a change and unity within music. Michael said in one of his songs that :”They don’t really care about us!”. That is true and Mr. Jackson was making a bold statement that which in turn really turns out to be true.

    The saddest of all is that even though Mr. Jackson’s presence is no longer present on this earth, there are some in the media who are secretly rejoicing that he is no longer here. Some in the media have been after him. I believe he was hunted in the same sense that Princess Diana was hounded and also died unexpectedly. The media I believe is going to wear this out and continue to beat him until they are satisfied. Will there ever be a time when the media will not withold real TRUTH?

    The legacy of Michael will continue to embrace the hearts and minds of all who have enjoyed watching him grow from a child to an adult. No one is perfect!

    Thank You Michael for the gift of music that helped to inspire other artists and fans that will continue to love your talents though you have passed on.

    Respectfully,
    http://micheal-jackson-thriller.com

  7. Great thougtful tribute for such a legendary icon, rest in peace MJ

  8. I have a slightly different take on the whole matter. If you are so inclined, please read and let me know what you think:

    http://davidrheins.blogspot.com/

    Thanks

  9. Unbelievable, you said it. I can’t believe he is gone.

    Hiya, Amanda, Queen of Soul…:) Even after this amount of time gone by, I still can’t believe he’s gone and died perhaps at the hand of incompetent physician. May God bless his rest. {{{hug}}}

  10. Nice piece.

    Thanks for stopping by, Buyset, and sharing your thoughts with me..:)

  11. Thank you all for sharing your thoughts about Michael Jackson here. To think he may have died at the hands of a newly acquired 24/7 physician with so many murky things going on in his own life, makes this even more tragic. I guess it’s safe to say, recreational drugs may KILL you, even with a physician at your side. Makes ya think, doesn’t it. To all who drop in here, me B luvin’ you!


Leave a Reply

Categories