Posted by: janetleigh | July 1, 2011

Cup of Despair

tears_hazelh3

Tears picture by hazelh3 on Photobucket
.

I believe I drank from Cup of Despair
hidden hung on Life’s abundant tree –
or it found me – hiding in low bough shadows
cringing – naked alone on the Human knee.

There’s a life out there in the miry clay;
broken, left wandering listless long of late, riding
a big black storm on a cloudless day.

Universal music weaves in and out the air;
my instrument of Life pants breathless,
a struggling note blown out of tune.

My Sky Room is vast and mysterious;
on Celestial shelf near the stars and moon
float space junk: my unsung accomplishments.

I mourn the work left in Life undone;
my portion measures the least of them,
good intentions never count for much.

Now the tongue likes to claim my best – tho
my works – a life lived in superficiality and jest.
I’m told.
I’ve – colored my life Rusted Tin – in watery lies
little white sins some thoughtless whim – I’ve
smothered my candle from within.

God’s precious gift grows worn – O lowly worm
now – lost in lost loves lost dreams I squirm I scream;
nothing will cover my unworthy past or sins.

Some place away somewhere now at bay
lay lost souls like me alone afraid
fearful of base waste soiled bed we made.

Thinking, take this cup from me!
Born torn cloth never made whole;
Thy lowly limb severed from Life’s tree,
my impoverished love my mother sin,
my heart adrift unforgiven upon your sea.

Let this be what defines your hidden me;
a dam holding back a river tear
falling from an ocean eye.
.

Copyright © 2009 by Janet Leigh.  All Rights Reserved.

Revised: 5.7.09

Responses

  1. How incredible that you have resurfaced, lady dearest. I like the revisions on this poem. I, of course, had posted the original on FFTR on May 4, 2009, and like you I love that image. I hope whatever difficulty or darkness that you have endured, that you are once more moving toward the light–and I look forward to new poetics coming from the Queen of Shenandoah.

  2. great long poem
    your very good at that

  3. My dear, you are superb! That was just beautiful.

  4. awesome poem. Loving it!

    Thank you for your very kind words, Scott, and welcome to Poetmeister. Hope to see you again!


Leave a Reply

Categories